Mary E. Branch School

Introduction

Originally called the Farmville Colored School (also Farmville No. 2 or Farmville Training School), this building was constructed in 1926 to serve as an elementary school. Grades 8 through 11 were added gradually, and in 1931, the school was renamed Robert Russa Moton High School. In 1939, when the new high school across Main Street opened and adopted that name, this school was renamed for Mary E. Branch, a native of Farmville who became president of Tillotson College in Texas.

Photo: Library of Virginia


Explore Map Back to Places